The Power of Engaged Reading | Canadian Education Association (CEA)

http://m.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/power-engaged-reading

The Power of Engaged Reading

28 March 2014

Reading with pleasure, and especially reading fiction, is far important than we have ever imagined.

If I were a father living in poverty, I would dedicate myself to encouraging my children to be engaged readers of relevant, age-appropriate fiction. If I were a school teacher, I would dedicate my professional development time to learn strategies to promote and develop engaged readers of meaningful and relevant novels, short stories and drama, no matter if I was a Grade 1 teacher or Grade 12 Physics teacher. It is the most important thing I could do for a child, especially a boy. (CEA)

From Al Smith – @literateowl

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Events

Leave a Reply

