Education Week- “Do you remember your first year of teaching

http://mobile.edweek.org/c.jsp?DISPATCHED=true&cid=25983841&item=http%3A%2F%2Fblogs.edweek.org%2Fedweek%2Ffinding_common_ground%2F2013%2F10%2Fdo_you_remember_your_first_year_of_teaching.html

Reblog. Excerpts….

Truth be told, I’m not sure if I would trade in the struggles for an easier path.

Do you remember your first year of teaching? The excitement…the fear. I never wanted to be a teacher. To be honest, I barely graduated from high school, so being a teacher was something that was a far-fetched dream. If I was in Finland, I would not be a teacher because I was in the bottom 10% of my high school class, and colleges were not knocking down my door.

Fortunately for me, some life events and influential people got through to me…and I found success in school, which was the very thing I failed at through my formal years. Truth be told, I’m not sure if I would trade in the struggles for an easier path.

When I began teaching, I remember feeling as though the principal was going to walk into my classroom at any time and say he made a mistake by hiring me…or that parents were going to think I was a fraud. As each first grade student walked into the classroom I remember feeling that, although I spent weeks organizing my classroom, I was going to fail.

…and I did.

Teaching is about experience and growth. No teacher knows what they need to know in their first year. ……..

Social Networking and Reflection

Teaching is much more complicated now than it was back when I began. I used to have to keep records of writing and running records for reading, but I did not have SLO’s, LAT’s, HEDI Scores and accountability like our pre-service teachers do now. It seems so odd to think that I have been in education for 19 years. It goes by so fast.
…….

Some final advice, the same I offered on #Satchat:

  • Don’t go it alone
  • Rely on your colleagues
  • You were hired for a reason
  • Always seek professional growth

and prove to your students every day that you care.

Connect with Peter on Twitter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Events

Leave a Reply

