Nerdy Book Club

I’ve read my share of Nerdy Book Club author posts.  Some are about becoming a writer.  Lots are about becoming a reader.  Mine starts like one of the latter, but like many a tale, it takes a nasty twist.  You’ll see.

I read a ton as a small child.  My mother says I was reading at three.  I’m not sure that’s true, but I do know I read fluently before I went to school.  According to family legend, I read aloud at Storytime on the first day of kindergarten.    In second grade, inspired by class read-alouds and guided by our school librarian (my beloved Mr. Yelinsky), I plowed through every Beverly Cleary and Laura Ingalls Wilder book I could get my hands on.  In third and fourth grades, I met Fudge and Andrew “Freckle Juice” Marcus and Linda “Blubber” Fisher. One of those grades was coincident with the nation’s bicentennial…

View original post 769 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Events

Leave a Reply

